claudecat

Just another WordPress.com site

What is linux becoming?

leave a comment »

Ok… I’m a dude that has had as many as 33 distros installed and usable at a time, albeit without ANY coding skills. Recent happenings in the linux world have shot all this to hell. At this moment, only Mint, PCLOS, Fedora and OLDER versions of openSUSE, Slackware, et al work without geek quotient z. And Mint (and all other Ubuntu clones) drops my wireless (atheros something) every few minutes. This is not good. As a human that just wants stuff to work, I am an unhappy linux camper lately.

As a bit of background info, let me admit that I installed Windows 7 a few months ago. Just as a lark! I fully expected to continue using linux as my main OS, but there have been issues. First off, W7 works pretty great. I use AVG Free and common sense and feel secure. Second, and the point of all this: linux distros have regressed in so many major ways of late (and into the foreseeable future) that I am no longer willing to be a fanboi (I apologize if I spelled that wrong). Grub2? It sucks in so many ways and spells the end of any hope of “linux on the desktop” being anything more than a pipe dream. Gnome 3? Unity? Really? Just when linux has come to some level of usability by just plain folk, a complete revision of the user interface? This is just plain utter fail. The assumption that Mint will probably use some of this crap in its next iteration makes me extremely doubtful that any linux distribution will ever “get it”. What users want is something not terribly different from what we already use, yet inherently more secure, and easier to upgrade/add new software to. Exactly what linux was 2 years ago. I’m posting this in W7 ffs… I would have been ashamed to do so a few years back.

The main point here is that linux has taken many steps away from general usability in recent times/near future. While many many users will settle for social networking and flash, many of us demand security, stability and yes, a user interface that can at least be configured to be better than Unity/Gnome3/KDE4.what. The fact that I currently spend most of my time in Windows 7 is a spike to the temple of what was once a viable linux opponent.

Written by claudecat

April 13, 2011 at 4:07 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

